Soccer Facility 14562 I-45 South, Conroe, Texas 77384

After winning in Laredo on June 27th (1-2) the Houston Dutch Lions FC went to Laredo knowing that after the win and loss vs Mississippi Brilla FC (4-1 win and 1-4 loss) both teams couldn’t qualify for the play offs.


The Laredo Heat SC started out strong and scored a quick goal from a set piece, 1-0 in the 4th minute. After this wake up call the Lions found a few ways to the Heat goal. Best moment for the Lions was when George Kelley was send awaytowards a great opportunity. George stayed calm and found Kelvin ‘Manny’ Iloba at the second post. Iloba controlled the pass but his shot went over the goal were it should have been the equalizer.

In a game were both teams didn’t display their best soccer, the home team scored again off a set piece, 2-0 in the 24th minute. The visitors from Houston didn’t give up and got their equalising goal just a minute before half time. Captain Jorge Contreras his shot was changed direction from the foot of his UST team mate Iloba, Heat goalkeeper couldn’t prevent the Lions their first goal of the game.

At the start of the second half the Lions started furious wanting the equaliser. From minute 46 till 59 the Lions dominated the game, only missing the final pass to score their second goal. The Houston Dutch Lions FC couldn’t keep this full pressure up and saw another world class goal in the 67th minute. Only this time the Laredo Heat SC scored after a corner kick, the shot from left back Frank Lara was beautiful and ended in the upper ninety.

With the home team playing a winning game, and the Lions pressuring more and more, both teams created chances. Robert Mueller had a few excellent saves in one vs one situations, keeping the Lions in the game.

The last PDL 2015 regular season game will be this Saturday at 7:00pm vs the Midland / Odessa Sockers FC.

Houston Dutch Lions FC: Robert Mueller; Archie Massen, Cameron Free, Marshal Tucker, Koen Woldring; David Perez (75′ Kristian Piippo), Juan Garcia (65′ Pieter Beereboom), Kelvin Iloba; Carlos Acevedo (46′ Pablo Covarrubias), George Kelley and Jorge Contreras.

Subs not used: Antonio Williams, Jack Hayes and Jeroen Straetemans.

4′ 1-0: Fransisco Lara (Luis Garcia)
24′ 2-0: Alexander Mullet (Unassisted)
45′ 2-1: Kelvin Iloba (Jorge Contreras)
67′ 3-1: Fransisco Lara (Unassisted)