Soccer Facility 14562 I-45 South, Conroe, Texas 77384

Saturday, June 20th, 2015 saw a very intense battle between Mississippi Brilla FC and the Houston Dutch Lions FC. Unfortunately the game ended up 3-2 for the victorious Mississippi Brilla FC, moving them up to second place.


Coming from a 2-1 loss the Houston Dutch Lions FC looked strong mentally coming into the game, determined to leave Mississippi with points. The second minute of the first half seemed to put Brilla FC ahead 1-0; though this still did not break the Lions seeing they have been in this situation many times and 90 minutes is a long game. Though the attacking of Brilla FC did not stop, neither did the tenacity of Victor Parreiras who found every 1v1 opportunity he could to showcase his technical brilliance. George Kelley’s brute strength was also shown when he scored in the 49th minute to tie the game at 1-1.

The second half brought extreme suspense with both teams looking for more than one point. But Kelley again found the back of the net by looking for defensive technical mistakes and exposing them by scoring (1-2). This goal gave the Lions striker 5 goals in the 2015 PDL Campaign. Though the last 5 minutes saw Brilla FC put two goals in the back of the net by. Both were strong clean shots from Sergio Royo and Logan Mendez making the score 3-2. The last minutes of the game saw pressing soccer from Houston Dutch Lions FC, unfortunately they could not put the ball in the back of the net.

The Mississippi series finished with no points earned, making the next matches crucial for playoff qualification. Next weekend the Lions face the Laredo Heat SC in the border town. If the team goes in with strong mentality, the outlook looks strong for the Lions.

Houston Dutch Lions FC: Philip Poser; Cameron Free, Roberto Diaz, Koen Woldring, Jack Hayes (61′ Matt Dorsey); Archie Massen (89′ Juan Garcia), David Perez (46′ Carlos Acevedo), Marshal Tucker, Victor Parreiras; George Kelley (80′ Chance Bergen) and Kelvin Iloba.

Subs not used: Tom McMahon, Pieter Beereboom and Kyle Baccus.

2′ 1-0:  Sergio Royo (Unassisted)
48′ 1-1: George Kelley (Victor Parreiras)
71′ 1-2: George Kelley (Unassisted)
82′ 2-2: Sergio Royo (Macauley King)
87′ 3-2: Logan Mendez (Unassisted)